Ron Adelman, MD, MPH, MBA, FACS

Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Science 
Interim Chairman 
Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Science 
Interim Chief of Ophthalmology
Yale - New Haven Hospital 
Director, Retina and Macula Center 
New Haven, Connecticut

Dr. Ron Adelman is Interim Chairman of Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science and Director of Retina and Macula Service at Yale University School of Medicine. He is an internationally recognized expert in diseases and surgery of macula, retina and vitreous and currently serves as the Scientific Director of European Vitreo-Retinal Society (EVRS) and President of Connecticut Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons (CSEP). He has been invited faculty in 14 countries including Germany, Italy, Spain, Mexico and Canada. His clinical interests include macular holes and puckers, macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, complex retinal detachments, retinal vein occlusion, retinal lasers and surgery.

He has received the “Senior Honor Award” of the American Society of Retina Specialists and the “Achievement Award” of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He has been recognized by the Lions of Connecticut as “Knight of the Blind” for “outstanding work throughout the state and in the global community.” Dr. Adelman’s education includes a Master of Public Health from the University of California at Berkeley, an Ophthalmology residency and a Retina fellowship at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary of Harvard Medical School. During his fellowship, he received many awards, including the Club Vit Fellow Research Award, the Ron G. Michels Fellowship Award, and Fellow of the Year 2000. He has been at the forefront of new advancements in macular and retinal diseases and has been Principal Investigator of numerous clinical trials. Dr. Adelman has published extensively, primarily in the area of retinal and macular diseases and surgery, with over 90 publications and 250 abstracts. He serves on the editorial board of several scientific journals and also serves on the Executive Committees of several medical societies.